Hockey Committee, Team and Tournament in India

Hockey Committee, Team and Tournament in India

Hockey is the national sport of India.The Indian men's hockey team is the most successful hockey team in Olympic history with 8 gold, 1 silver, and 2 bronze medals

New Committee (IOA)
The Indian Olympic Association appointed a new five-member national selection committee. This panel will work in conjunction with the International Hockey Federation in managing hockey in India.The panel was headed by Aslam Sher Khan, a former MP and former hockey captain and includes Ashok Kumar, Ajit Pal Singh, Zafar Iqbal and Dhanraj Pillay. Aslam Sher Khan has now been replaced by Ajit Pal Singh as the chairman of the national selection committee. Aslam Sher Khan was highly displeased by this decision, though he remained as a selector.In a 30 April 2008 interview with India Today, Khan indicated the impact of the 2007 film about the National Women's Hockey Team, Chak De India, on his future strategy by stating that he wants "to create a 'Chak De' effect" within Indian hockey.

The Indian Hockey Team is the national men's hockey team of India. It was the first non-European team to be a part of the International Hockey Federation. In 1928, the team won its first Olympic gold medal. From 1928 to 1956, the Indian men's team remained unbeaten in the Olympics, garnering six gold medals in a row. The Indian team has won a total of eight gold, one silver and two bronze medals in Olympics.
On 9 March 2008, India lost 2-0 to Britain at Santiago, Chile in the final of one of the three qualifying tournaments for the Beijing Olympics. With only the winner advancing to the 12-team event, the Indian men's team was eliminated from the Beijing Olympics competition. This is the first time that the Indian men's team did not participate in the Olympics since 1928.

The Indian Women's Hockey Team is the national women's team representing hockey in India. Captain Suraj Lata Devi led the team to the Gold for three consecutive years: during the 2002 Commonwealth Games (the event which inspired the 2007 Bollywood hit film, Chak De India), the 2003 Afro-Asian Games, and the 2004 Hockey Asia Cup. They were referred to as the "Jassi (Jasjeet) jaisi koi nahi" or "Golden girls of hockey," after winning the 2004 Hockey Asia Cup.
On 24 April 2008, India lost 2-1 to the United States during the 2008 Women's Field Hockey Olympic Qualifier. The team was thus eliminated from the Beijing Olympics competition. On 29 April 2008, following the suspension of the Indian Hockey Federation, The Hindustan Times revealed that 16 days before leaving for the games, a report found many of the players to be unfit for international competition. The report was quoted as stating, "Eleven girls are suffering from different injuries and are under treatment and thus not fit for international competition of Olympic qualifying standards." On June 27, 2009, India became the first winner of the women's Champions Challenge II in hockey history after they defeated Belgium 6-3 in the final in Kazan, Russia

National tournaments
All India MCC Murugappa Gold Cup Hockey Tournament, Chennai[T.N]
All India Gurmeet Memorial Hockey Tournament, Chandigarh[Punjab]
IndianOil Surjit Hockey Tournament, Jalandhar[Punjab]
All India Chhatrapati Shivaji Hockey Tournament, Delhi
All India Aagha Khan Hockey Tournament, Mumbai[Maharashtra]
All India Bombay Gold Cup Hockey Tournament, Mumbai[Maharashtra]
All India Obaidullah Khan Gold Cup Hockey Tournament, Bhopal[M.P.]
All India Jawaharlal Nehru Hockey Tournament, Delhi
All India Lal Bahadur Shastri Hockey Tournament, Delhi
All India Sanjay Hockey Tournament, Delhi
All India K D singh Babu Memorial Invitational Prize Money Hockey Tournament, Lucknow[U.P.]
All India Ramesh Chander Memorial Hockey Tournament, Jalandhar[Punjab]
All India Liberals Hockey Tournament, Nabha
All India Shri Shadilal Rajendra Lal Memorial Hockey Tournament, Shamli[U.P.]
All India Indira Gold Cup Hockey Tournament, Jammu[J & K]
All India Beighton Cup Hockey Tournament, Kolkata[W.B]
All India G.P.Kuppuswami Naidu Hockey Tournament, Kovilpatti[T.N.]
Senior National Hockey Tournament
Junior National Hockey Tournament
Sub-junior National Hockey Tournament
Amarjeet Singh Bola Memorial Hockey Tournament Chakdana,Nawanshahr,Punjab
Bundel Khand All India Hockey Tournament, Mahoba (U.P.)
Republic All India Hockey Tournament, Katni, M.P.
All India Hockey Tournament,Damoh,M.P.
All India Hockey Tournament,Indore,M.P.
All India Hockey Tournament,Mhow,M.P.
All India Hockey Tournament,Ujjain,M.P.
All India Hockey Tournament,Tikamgarh,M.P.
All India Hockey Tournament,Ratlam,M.P.
All India Hockey Tournament,Khargon,M.P.
All India Hockey Tournament,Hoshangabad,M.P.
All India Hockey Tournament,Balaghat,M.P.
Bhagat Singh All India Hockey Tournament,Gwalior,M.P.
Kodava Hockey Festival
Dr. B.R.Ambedkar All India Hockey Tournament(under-16 Boys),Nagpur