About Thane District

Thane (Marathi: ठाणे जिल्हा ʈʰaːɳeˑ) is a district in northern Maharashtra state in western India, as of 2011 officially the most populated in the nation. The headquarters of the district is the city of Thane. Other major cities in the district are Navi Mumbai (formerly New Mumbai), Kalyan-Dombivli, Mira-Bhayander, Bhiwandi, Ulhasnagar, Ambarnath, Kulgaon-Badlapur, Dahanu, Shahapur, Wada and Vasai-Virar. This is the third-most industrialised district in Maharashtra.

The district is situated between 18°42' and 20°20' north latitudes and 72°45' and 73°48' east longitudes. The area of the district is 9558 km². The shape of the district is triangular. The district is bounded by Pune and Ahmadnagar on the east, Nashik on the east and northeast, Valsad District of Gujarat state and Union Territory of Dadra and Nagar Haveli on the north. The Arabian Sea forms the western boundary, while it is bounded by Mumbai City District and Mumbai Suburban District on the southwest and Raigad District on the south.

Origin of name

The district derived its name from the city of Thane, which is the district headquarters. The name Thane derived from the ancient name of the same city, Shristhanaka, when it was the capital of the Shilahara kings.


In 1817, the territory now comprising Thane district was taken over by the British from the Peshwa and it became a part of North Konkan district, with its headquarters in Thana. Since then, it has undergone considerable changes in its boundaries. In 1830, the North Konkan district was expanded by adding parts of South Konkan district and in 1833 was re-named Thana District. In 1853, the three sub-divisions of Pen, Roha and Mahad together with Underi and Revadanda agencies of Kolaba were formed into the sub-collectorate of Kolaba, under Thana, and ultimately were separated to become an independent Kolaba district in 1869 (presently known as Raigad district).